Public Notice
Amendments to the Regulations Designating Physical Activities
(Project List)

The Minister of the Environment has finalized amendments to the Regulations Designating Physical Activities (the project list) to ensure that federal environmental assessments are focused on those major projects with the greatest potential for significant adverse environmental impacts to matters of federal jurisdiction.

The project list identifies the physical activities that constitute a "designated project" which may require an environmental assessment under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012). The physical activities are listed according to which federal authority would be responsible for conducting the environmental assessment of a project that included that activity.

CEAA 2012 allows the Minister of the Environment to order an assessment for any project not included in the project list where there may be adverse environmental effects related to federal jurisdiction.

The Regulations Amending the Regulations Designating Physical Activities were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I for 30-day public comment period in April, 2013. Comments received were considered in the finalization of these regulations.

The Regulations Amending the Regulations Designating Physical Activities and the Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement (RIAS) are available in the November 6, 2013 edition of the Canada Gazette, Part II.

For more information, please contact:

Isabelle Perrault
Senior Communications Advisor
613-960-0290
Isabelle.Perrault@ceaa-acee.gc.ca

Avis public
Modifications au Règlement désignant les activités concrètes
(Liste de projets)

Le ministre de l'Environnement a approuvé la version définitive des modifications au Règlement désignant des activités concrètes (la liste de projets) visant à axer les évaluations environnementales fédérales sur les grands projets qui risquent le plus d'entraîner des effets environnementaux négatifs importants dans les domaines de compétence fédérale.

La liste de projets dresse la liste des activités concrètes qui constituent des « projets désignés » susceptibles d'exiger une évaluation environnementale en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (2012) (LCEE 2012). Les activités concrètes y sont regroupées en fonction de l'autorité fédérale qui serait chargée de réaliser l'évaluation environnementale d'un projet comprenant l'activité en question.

La LCEE 2012 autorise par ailleurs le ministre de l'Environnement à exiger l'évaluation de tout projet ne faisant pas partie de la liste de projets s'il est susceptible d'entraîner des effets environnementaux négatifs dans un domaine de compétence fédérale.

Le Règlement modifiant le Règlement désignant les activités concrètes a été publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada pour une période de consultation publique de 30 jours en avril 2013. Les commentaires reçus ont été pris en compte au moment de rédiger la version définitive de ce règlement.

Le Règlement modifiant le Règlement désignant les activités concrètes et le résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation sont publiés dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada du 6 novembre 2013.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Isabelle Perrault
Conseillère principale en communications
613-960-0290
Isabelle.Perrault@acee-ceaa.gc.ca